2016 10th SA State Championships

The weather gods were on our side over the weekend with Largs Bay producing some excellent sailing conditions on both days of the SA Opti States. A big thank you to Largs Bay Sailing Club for hosting such a great event – we’ve had nothing but favourable comments with many happy children. Special mention to the on-land and on-water race officers, jury and support crews along with the many volunteers who all contributed their part to make the weekend a success.

A big thank you is also extended to our sponsors: MUSTO,(Event Major Sponsor) along with  The Sailing Shop, Binks Marine, OziOpti, Doyle Stratis Australia and GoPsych. The range of prizes was simple awesome.

Thanks also to the number of interstate sailors who made the trip from WA and QLD. We very much appreciated you travelling to South Australia and hope you had an enjoyable time.

Results: Actual results are available from the links below with photos and a video of Sunday afternoons water bomb session on the IODASA Facebook site

A quick summary follows:

South Australian State Champion – Ben Hinks. Congratulations Ben – great achievement

South Australian Female State Champion – Ella Konings – great to see Ella continuing her fine form.
2nd SA – Jonas Barrett – excellent sailing Jonas
3rd SA – Quinn Auricht
4th SA – Harry Higgins
5th SA – Alexi Wigglesworth

Other significant achievements:
2nd SA Female – Madi Pike
3rd SA Female – Rubi Pike
1st Traveller – Ashleigh Swadling (2nd place open championship, 1st Girl)
2nd Traveller – Axel Fleet (4th place open championship)

Age Group Awards:
1st Under 11 – Taran Sanderson
1st Under 10 – Carter Baker
1st Under 9 – Austin Higgins

Intermediate State Champion – Tom Chambers
2nd Intermediate – Will Howard
3rd Intermediate – Izaak Hart
4th Intermediate – Isaac Konings
5th Intermediate & First Female Intermediate – Alicia Gaffney – also recipient of Doyle Sail

Green Fleet State Champion – Darcy Conry
2nd Green Fleet – Will McAskill
3rd Green Fleet – Scott Horn
4th Green Fleet – Archie Campion
5th Green Fleet – Fraser Baker
First Female Green Fleet – Kara Jenkins (6th place).

The above results demonstrate the continued success of the Optimist Class in South Australia with strong representation from both country and metropolitan clubs. To this end we are very grateful to the support of YSA and the State Government to assist in developing and funding activities focussed on high performance, capacity building, increased participation and gender.


Chris Auricht
IODASA President on behalf of the IODASA Committee