2018 Gill OptiAUS Championship – event report and photos

The 2018 Gill OptiAUS Championships hosted at Royal Queensland Yacht Squadron have concluded with 261 sailors competing over 3 fleets and 5 days of racing. 

The event was a huge success and a huge thank you to our sponsors Gill Australia and XSP for their support along with RQYS for hosting such a great event.  
Events like these do not happen without the volunteer’s so a special thank you to all the race committee, on water judges, measurers, parents and the RQYS members who donated their time to ensure that the sailors were provided with a world class event.
There were plenty of smiling faces and friendships being made across the boat park and close racing on the water.

Teams Racing
Teams racing was once again a hotly contested event, 24 teams entered, it came down to the last race of the finals with SA1 once again up against NSW1.  In a repeat of last year’s event, SA1 came back from 1 down & ending up finishing 2/1.  South Australia for the 2nd year in a row AUS Teams Racing Champions. 

Congratulations to : Jonas Barrett, Alexi Wigglesworth, Ben Hinks, Quinn Auricht & Ruby Pike.

Intermediate Fleet
The Intermediate Fleet had 75 entries with close racing across the 5 days.  With all sailors in one start the start line congestion looked at times like coordinated chaos but with a minute to go all sailors would find their spot and the close racing would commence. The standout leader in the Intermediate Fleet was Reece Hartnett from NSW with all other positions involving tight competition.
Congratulations to our Intermediate Fleet Podium : 1st Reece Hartnett (NSW), 2nd William Troop (NSW), Cameron Scade (NSW).  1st Female : Anneke Meyer (NSW).

Open Fleet

The Open Fleet had 135 competitors resulting in the fleet being divided into two divisions for both the qualifying and finals.  The quality of the Open Fleet racing was outstanding throughout the 5 days of the regatta with close and exciting racing at the front of the fleet.  A great display of consistency for Fletcher Walters, Daniel Links and Quinn Auricht to stay in the top 3 positions for the entire regatta.   The final podium positions came down to the last race and last couple of meters with Daniel Links winning both races on final day, Fletcher Walters was able to secure second place in the final race of the regatta allowing him to win the 2018 Gill OptiAUS Championships by one point.

Open Fleet Overall Winners & Australian Championship
1st Fletcher Walters (NSW)
2nd Daniel Links (NSW)
3rd Quinn Auricht (SA)

Open Fleet Female Podium – presented by Tessa Parkinson
1st Samara Walshe (USA)
2nd Sophie Zimmermann (PER)
3rd Mia Lovelady (WA)

Open Fleet 1st Australian Female – WA’s Mia Lovelady 

Open Fleet – Best 10 Years and Under

1st Joel Beashel (NSW)
2nd Riley Cantrell (VIC)
3rd Ava Wilson (SA)

Open Fleet – Best 11 Years and Under
1st Austin Higgins (SA)
2nd Phillip Cripsey (VIC)
3rd Aidan Simmons (VIC)

Open Fleet – Best 12 Years and Under
1st Aaron Teo (WA)
2nd Mason Mahoney (VIC)
3rd James Ferguson (WA)

Open Fleet Most Improved – Austin Cross (QLD) with an overall improvement of 103 places from the last nationals.
Club with the lowest nett score from top 3 Open fleet
Brighton & Seacliff YC, South Australia.
Club with the largest no of entrants all fleets
Royal Queensland YC

A huge congratulations to our overall and divisional winners and a special thanks to all our international competitors who made the effort to come to the Australian Nationals and we look forward to your return in 2019.

Full results can be viewed here.

Matias Capizzano captured the event in the hundreds of images made available to the community, and worldwide through his FB page. A special event book and high resolution image packages will be available shortly. Images can be viewed here.

This years event was a huge success and we look forward to the 2019 OptiAUS Championships at Sandy Bay Sailing Club in Hobart, Tasmania.  Like their FB page to keep up to date with news link here.